One of those days.

Today is the last day of my Psychology as a Natural science class. I have to write a 5 page paper about the connection between emotion and motivation as it pertains to the achievements of someone I chose. I can’t slow down long enough to read the source material on emotion and motivation and the clock is ticking. tic. toc. tic. toc. 

My body doesn’t want to slow down, it wants to run. 

My brain wants to think about the novels I started 4 years ago and never picked up again…great timing brain. 

My eyes are making the words dance and I’m getting dizzy. 

I’m trying. tic. toc. tic. toc.

I’ve made threw three 6 week classes and now when the paper is worth half my grade my body is fighting me with everything it has. tic. toc. tic. toc. 

4 thoughts on “One of those days.

  1. Sooo… at the risk of enabling you and making you fail your class… you can blame me if that happens… why not accept that you can’t fight both your body and your mind? You’re obviously not being productive on this paper anyway. So stop struggling. Do what your body or your mind tells you to do. Then maybe afterwards you can come back to the paper. Or not. I mean, what have you got to lose? Not being productive, staring at your paper, and beating yourself up over it? Or not being productive and doing something that helps you?

    But going “I NEED TO TRY HARDER” is just setting yourself up to fail because you’ll run out of energy long before you conquer both your body and your mind. Accept yourself.

    • Erm. Oops. I went into “fix it” mode. Sorry! I’m trying to learn to not immediately go around offering advice, because sometimes all that’s needed is to listen. I want to listen to you first! Sorry about that. :/

      • It’s ok 🙂 I do the same thing. I have until midnight to finish the paper and when I can focus on a paper, I tend to finish it fast… so I got my son dressed, put him in the stroller and went for a 2 mile walk. I feel A LOT better. I’m still a little off but I already feel myself coming back down.

Leave a Reply

